Aim for Excellence District Awards

(Selma, AL, 5/31/22) Selma City Schools is proud to announce the winners for the 2022 Aim for Excellence District Awards. The purpose of the Aim for Excellence Awards, a.k.a. The AIMEs, is to recognize members of Team Selma who demonstrate excellence while supporting a joyful, students first environment. 

A reception honoring nominees was held Wednesday, May 25th, at Selma High School. The virtual presentation of the Aim for Excellence Awards premiered Friday, May 27th on the district’s YouTube and Facebook. 

Congratulations to each of our nominees and winners for the 2022 Aim for Excellence Awards! Special thank you to our district sponsor for the AIMEs, The Network. 



School Support Staff of the Year- 

  • Rena Kimbrough (Edgewood CNP) 

District Support Staff of the Year- 

  • Martina West –PC Tech Coordinator (1st
  • Dr. Alisa Smiley-Behavior Interventionist (2nd

Parent/Guardian of the Year -

  • Michael Goings-RB Hudson STEAM Academy 

Rookie Teacher of the Year- 

  • Shawntia Menifee-Payne Elementary (1st
  • McKenzie Horton- Edgewood Elementary (2nd

Superintendent’s Excellence Award- 

  • Zachary Brown- Sophia P. Kingston Elementary Custodian  
  • Shawn Cole- Selma High School Library Media Aide 

Community Partner of the Year- 

  • Girl Level Up- Payne Elementary (1st
  • Selma Rotary Club-Saints Virtual Academy (2nd
  • Selma Chapter of The Links, Inc. (2nd)

Innovative Technology Award-

  • Monica Russell- RB Hudson STEAM Academy (1st
  • Rita Tarver- Meadowview Elementary (2nd

 The Power of Social Media Award- 

  • RB Hudson STEAM Academy (1st
  • Payne Elementary (2nd



School Support Staff of the Year: Kimberly Grimes (Payne), Rena Kimbrough (Edgewood), Latosha Reeves (SVA),Romona Kelly (RB Hudson), Sherrekka Canty (Meadowview), Terry Johnson (SHS), Kayla Savage(Clark), Nadine Sturdivant (SOD), Chanette Craig (Sophia P. Kingston) 

District Support Staff of the Year: Janet Bradley (Exec. Assistant to Superintendent), Martina West (PC Tech Coordinator), Jesse Mitchell (Computer Tech), George Tarver (Maintenance Supervisor), and Dr. Alisa Smiley (Behavior Interventionist) 


Rookie Teacher of the Year: Jamerica Conner (SVA), Shawntia Menifee (Payne), Anthonia Wray(RBH), McKenzie Horton(Edgewood), Sondra Childs (Meadowview), Aidan Blecke (SHS), Jameika Reed (Clark), Bresha Baker (SOD), and Mekesia Williams (SPK). 


Parent/Guardian of the Year: Dorothy Reeves (SVA), Clara Church (Payne), Michael Goings (RBH), Tisha Bowie (Edgewood), Burma Lomax (Meadwview), Rotissa Jones (SHS), Chanise Bouoler-Jackson (Clark),Alex Perkins (SOD), and Turkesa Sullivan (SPK). 


Community Partner of the Year: Selma Rotary Club (SVA), Girl Level UP (Payne), The Links (RBH), Kustom Kreations (Meadowview), LeMarkus Snow (SHS), Girls on the Run (Edgewood), Honda Lock (Clark), Bush Hog (SPK), and Ashley’s JH Williams Funeral Home ( SOD).  


Innovative Technology Award- Kashundra Davis (SVA), Monica Russell (Lexie Lawley (Edgewood), Rita Tarver (Meadowview), Asia Daniels (SHS), Vivian Williams (Payne), Stacy Lewis (Clark), Allen Bearden (SOD), and Kimberly McKinley (SPK).

Print This Article
View text-based website